Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.

6th Philharmonic Concert

Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings op. 11 / Jennifer Higdon: Viola Concerto / Edward Elgar: »Enigma-Variations« op. 36

Aula der Neuen Universität
Musical Direction

Moving laments: Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings is quintessentially sad music. The American composer's piece is frequently played at funerals and its undulating sounds accompany the weltschmerz scenes of countless films. Composed in 1938, it is Barber's most popular work.

The low registers of the viola open US-American composer Jennifer Higdon's Viola Concerto. Premiered in 2015 and awarded a Grammy in 2018, this piece is a significant addition to the instrument's solo repertoire.

Edward Elgar was a master of the variations like Johannes Brahms; his »Enigma Variations« are a tour de force of this compositional technique. Each of the fourteen variations portray one of the composer's closest friends.

Eine Einführung von Stefan Klawitter können Sie hier hören.

With kind support of