Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.

5th Philharmonic Concert

Lili Boulanger: »D’un soir triste« and »D’un matin de printemps« / Joseph Marx: Orchestral Lieder (Selection) / Igor Stravinsky: »Petrushka« (1947 version)

Aula der Neuen Universität
as part of the Festival Heidelberger Frühling 2023
Musical Direction

Lili Boulanger, born in France in 1893, only lived to the age of twenty-five. She was the first woman to receive the renowned Prix de Rome. Particularly taken by vocal music, she only left a small body of instrumental works. Lili Boulanger is often placed besides Debussy and Ravel, as underlined by the two works in the programme.

The orchestral Lieder by Joseph Marx take a late romantic turn with complex, colourful harmony and an impressive range of melody. It is time to rediscover an exceptional composer of vocal pieces and his enchanting music.

Igor Stravinsky's 1911 ballet »Petrushka« sees gaiety take a sudden sombre turn. The work shows real life at the fun fair impinging on the puppet show as what starts as enjoyable theatre ends in true tragedy.

Listen to an introduction by Stefan Klawitter here (in German).

With kind support of