Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.

4th Philharmonic Concert

Farzia Fallah: »Traces of a Burning Mass« for Orchestra (2022) – World premiere – Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis / Robert Schumann: Cello Concerto in A Minor op. 129 / Ralph Vaughan Williams: »A London Symphony«

World premiere Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis
World premiere Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis
Aula der Neuen Universität
Musical Direction

The Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis 2023 is awarded to composer Farzia Fallah. Recipient of numerous prizes, this artist boasts a wide range of expression. Farzia Fallah was born in Tehran in 1980 and is inspired by Persian poetry as much as by European contemporary art. She composed a new work on the occasion, to be premiered at the prize gala concert.

It took Robert Schumann only two weeks to write his deeply romantic Cello Concerto, in which his wife Clara particularly admired the »playful« elements. Schumann had finally found his place and was feeling confident, having been given the highly prestigious position of the Städtischer Musikdirektor in Dusseldorf.

Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Symphony No. 2 takes us into a new era: his colourful 1913 tone-picture of the British capital around 1900 is inventive and brimming with references to English folk music traditions and Tudor melodies.

Listen to an introduction in German by Stefan Klawitter here.

Media partner
With kind support of