Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.

De profundis

5th Philharmonic Concert / Raminta Šerkšnytė: »De profundis« for String Orchestra / Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky: Violin Concert D Major op. 35 / Jean Sibelius: Symphony no. 1 E Minor op. 39

Heidelberg Congress Center
Maria Ioudenitch
Lucie Leguay

Violinist Gidon Kremer calls »De Profundis«, Raminta Šerkšnytė's work for orchestra, the poster child of Baltic music. Written in 1998, the most played Lithuanian composition in the world stands out as particularly expressive, graphic and colourful. »Dramatic music full of contrasts renders the world view of a young person looking for spiritual ideals,« the young composer writes about her work.

Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky's virtuoso violin concert is a mixture of melancholy and dancing vitality, demanding just as much from solo players as from the orchestra. A masterpiece, Tchaikovsky’s violin concert was composed in 1879 within just a few weeks.

At its premiere in 1900, Jean Sibelius’ first symphony was greeted with frenetic applause. Subsequently, the composer accompanied the orchestra of the world premiere to the Universal Exhibition in Paris, celebrating international triumphs that encouraged him in his path as a composer.

With kind support of