Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.

Phantasy Quintet

Ludwig van Beethoven: Excerpts from »Fidelio« / York Bowen: »Phantasy Quintet« op. 93 / Franz Schubert: Symphony no. 7 B Minor D 759 »Unfinished Symphony« / Jean Françaix: »Divertissement« for Bassoon and String Quartet

Alter Saal
Ludwig van Beethoven: Ausschnitte aus »Fidelio«
Violoncello and Arrangement
York Bowen: »Phantasy Quintet« op. 93
Juliane Kliegel Maurice Mao
Anna-Lea Alpermann
Franz Schubert: Sinfonie Nr. 7 h-Moll D 759 »Unvollendete«
Violoncello and Arrangement
Jean Françaix: »Divertissement« für Fagott und Streichquartett
Moran Choi Maurice Mao
Double bass

First called »Leonore«, then »Fidelio« – Beethoven struggles more with his only opera than with any other of his works. The drama about tyranny, freedom and matrimonial love is a timeless composition, a fact also apparent in the arrangement for chamber music of a few excerpts by Christoph Habicht, cellist of Philharmonisches Orchester Heidelberg. 

York Bowens »Phantasy Quintet« from 1932, composed for the charming combination of bassoon and string instruments, is reminiscent of the late Romantic period. The work's rather dark tones come from an intense mixture between the deep sounds of string instruments and bassoon.

In 1822, Franz Schubert writes a symphony – this time not for an amateur orchestra but for a critical public. He strives for success, equal to that of the great Beethoven. In the autumn of the same year, he puts his symphony in B minor aside to take on a commissioned work. While he never completed his work, it still became a timeless classic, convincing also in the version for three celli by Christoph Habicht. Concluding the programme will be Jean Françaix's divertissement for bassoon and string quartet.