Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.


4th Chamber Concert / Kerry Turner: Sonata for Horn and Strings / Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet no. 1 G Minor op. 25

Alter Saal
Kerry Turner: Sonata for Horn and Strings
Judit Peters
Moran Choi Maurice Mao
Johannes Brahms: Klavierquartett Nr. 1 g-Moll op. 25
N. N.

Born in Texas in 1960, Kerry Drew Turner started composing at the age of ten. After successfully completing the exam in music theory subjects of the National Guild of Piano Teachers, he submitted a wind quintet that won a first prize at the age of 12. When he finished high school, he had already composed two symphonies, one mass, seven symphonic tone poems and one string quartet. His sonata for horn and piano is now part of the worldwide standard repertoire for horn.

Johannes Brahms’ three piano quartets look back on an unusually long and rather complicated creation history. In 1855, he was engaging with this genre, sometimes working on all three compositions at the same time. For Brahms, it was the piano that opened the door to chamber music, and it is this instrument that creates the almost symphonic allure of his piano quartet. Even the formal characteristics of the piano quartet no. 1, like those of the others, go beyond the scope of the genre of piano quartets, at the time a little noticed genre. Taking Schumann as an example, Brahms writes his quartets in four movements, creating a unique masterpiece.