Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.
X

Kens Lui

Photo: Susanne Reichardt

Kens Lui is 2nd Kapellmeister and assistant to the GMD at the Theater und Orchester Heidelberg. In the 2023/24 season, a variety of tasks await him in concert and music theatre, such as the 1st Workshop Concert, the 1st Family Concert or the musical direction of the concert with scholarship holders of the Jürgen Ponto Foundation in the Rokokotheater Schwetzingen or the revival of the opera »The Barber of Seville«.

Kens Lui assisted in productions such as »Les Contes d'Hoffmann«, »The Love for Three Oranges«, »Ulysses« and »Sunset Boulevard« and appears as conductor in »Il barbiere di Siviglia«, among others. In November 2023 he assisted Marie Jacquot in concerts of the WDR Symphony Orchestra and the hr-Symphony Orchestra.

Kens Lui was invited to the Aspen Music Festival as Conducting Fellow in the summer of 2022, where he attended master classes by Alan Gilbert, Ludovic Morlot and Mark Stringer. In the field of new music, Lui received the Bruno Walter Memorial Foundation Scholarship to participate in the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music under Cristian Macelaru. He was twice invited by the Peter Eötvös Foundation to conduct the ensemble »Ars Nova« in Annecy and the ensemble »UMZE« in Budapest under the direction of Peter Eötvös and Gregory Vajda.

Originally from Hong Kong, Kens Lui completed his master's degree in orchestral conducting with distinction at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin, where he studied with Christian Ehwald, Hans-Dieter Baum and Alexander Vitlin. During his studies he conducted orchestras such as the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the MDR Sinfonieorchester, the Hamburger Symphoniker, the Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, the Brandenburgische Staatsorchester Frankfurt, the Staatstheater Cottbus and the Kammerakademie Potsdam. Lui meanwhile completed his Konzertexamen studies at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg with Ulrich Windfuhr.

Kens Lui has been a scholarship holder at the Forum Dirigieren since 2021. He also took part in a master class with Elias Grandy with the Bundesjugendorchester and in the opera course at the Stadttheater Gießen with Andreas Schüller.

Current Season
Musical Rehearsal
1st Family Concert
Musical Direction
30th concert with scholarship holders of the Jürgen Ponto-Stiftung
Musical Direction
Collision
Musical Direction
Il barbiere di Siviglia
Musical Direction
Listen up! #1
Musical Direction
Man of La Mancha

Kens Lui

Foto: Susanne Reichardt

Kens Lui ist 2. Kapellmeister und Assistent des GMD am Theater und Orchester Heidelberg. In der Spielzeit 2023/24 warten vielfältige Aufgaben im Konzert und Musiktheater auf ihn, wie zum Beispiel das 1. Werkstattkonzert, das 1. Familienkonzert oder die musikalische Leitung des Konzerts mit Stipendiat*innen der Jürgen Ponto-Stiftung im Rokokotheater Schwetzingen oder die Wiederaufnahme der Oper »Der Barbier von Sevilla«.

Kens Lui assistierte bei Produktionen wie »Les Contes d’Hoffmann«, »Die Liebe zu drei Orangen«, »Ulysses« und »Sunset Boulevard« und tritt u. a. bei »Il barbiere di Siviglia« als Dirigent in Erscheinung. Im November 2023 assistierte er Marie Jacquot bei Konzerten des WDR-Sinfonieorchesters und des hr-Sinfonieorchesters.

Kens Lui wurde im Sommer 2022 als Conducting Fellow zum Aspen Music Festival eingeladen, wo er in Meisterkursen von Alan Gilbert, Ludovic Morlot und Mark Stringer besuchte. Im Bereich der Neuen Musik erhielt Lui das Stipendium der Bruno Walter Memorial Foundation für die Teilnahme am Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music unter Cristian Macelaru. Er wurde von der Peter Eötvös Foundation zweimal eingeladen, das Ensemble »Ars Nova« in Annecy und das Ensemble »UMZE« in Budapest unter der Leitung von Peter Eötvös und Gregory Vajda zu dirigieren.

Der aus Hongkong stammende Kens Lui schloss sein Masterstudium in Orchesterdirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin mit Auszeichnung ab, wo er bei Christian Ehwald, Hans-Dieter Baum und Alexander Vitlin studierte. Während seines Studiums dirigierte er Orchester wie das Konzerthausorchester Berlin, das MDR Sinfonieorchester, die Hamburger Symphoniker, die Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, das Brandenburgische Staatsorchester Frankfurt, das Staatstheater Cottbus und die Kammerakademie Potsdam. Lui absolvierte unterdessen sein Konzertexamen-Studium an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg bei Ulrich Windfuhr.

Kens Lui ist seit 2021 Stipendiat beim Forum Dirigieren. Zudem hat er an einem Meisterkurs bei Elias Grandy mit dem Bundesjugendorchester teilgenommen sowie am Opernkurs am Stadttheater Gießen mit Andreas Schüller.

Aktuelle Spielzeit
Musikalische Einstudierung
1. Familienkonzert
Musikalische Leitung
30. Konzert mit Stipendiat*innen der Jürgen Ponto-Stiftung
Musikalische Leitung
Der Mann von La Mancha
Musikalische Leitung
Hingehört! #1
Musikalische Leitung
Il barbiere di Siviglia
Musikalische Leitung
Zusammenstoß