Not all pages are available in English. In this case, content is displayed in German.
X

Iván Pérez

Photo: Susanne Reichardt

Since September 2018, the Spanish choreographer Iván Pérez is the artistic director of Dance Theatre Heidelberg (DTH) at Theater und Orchester Heidelberg. He is also curator of the Tanzbiennale Heidelberg and the Choreographic Center Heidelberg. At the beginning of 2022, he became a member of the board of directors of TanzSzene BW.

Pérez is a former member of the Netherlands Dance Theater, where he had his professional choreographic debut in 2011 with »Flesh«. Since then, he has made new works for companies such as the Paris Opera Ballet, Balletboyz, Ballet Moscow, Compañía Nacional de Danza and Dance Forum Taipei amongst others. In 2018, his creation for the Paris Opera Ballet, »The Male Dancer«, part of a shared evening with Crystal Pite, Hofesh Shechter and James Thiérrée, was broadcasted by Arte as well as reaching cinemas around the globe. Before starting his position with DTH, he also created »Flutter« for Natalia Osipova and Jonathan Goddard at Sadler’s Wells in London, co-produced by the New York City Center, which is still touring worldwide. In 2016, the feature film »Young Men«, based on the stage work created for Balletboyz at Sadler’s Wells, premiered on BBC2/Arte and won a Rose d’Or and a Golden Prague awards.

As an associate choreographer of the Dutch production house Korzo, he made »Kick the Bucket« (2011), »Hide And Seek« (2013), »Exhausting Space« (2015), and »Waiting for the Barbarians« with director Michiel de Regt (2016). From this latest work, he fostered the first written documentation of his practice: »moving thinking capture, Iván Pérez | A Choreographic Toolbox« by Hannah Shakti Bühler. In the same year, he founded his own company INNE in the Netherlands, where he developed his entrepreneurial and leadership skills. With this company, he created his first site-specific work »The Inhabitants« commissioned by Operaestate Festival, Italy. He also choreographed »ISLAND« in collaboration with director Grzegorz Bral and Song of the Goat Theater in Poland. »Becoming« was the last work made with INNE in co-production with Dance Forum Taipei and was presented at the National Theatre of Taipei during TIFA, Taiwan International Festival for the Arts.

Within Dance Theatre Heidelberg, Pérez creates big scale works, promotes new choreographic voices and develops communities around dance. Currently, his trilogy of works examining the millennial generation through dance, visual arts and music, continues to unfold with »Impression«, »Dimension« and »Oscillation«. »Oscillation«, the last part of his trilogy examining the millennial generation through dance, visual arts, and music, can still be seen on stage. Furthermore, through his newest creation, »Firebird & Rite of Spring«, he questions the origin of violence in human nature.

Current Season
Choreography and Direction
Firebird & Rite of Spring
Choreography
Island
Stage Design
Island
Artistic Management DTH
No Tears Left to Cry
Choreography
Reality and the Cosmos

Iván Pérez

Foto: Susanne Reichardt

Seit September 2018 ist der spanische Choreograf Iván Pérez künstlerischer Leiter des Dance Theatre Heidelberg (DTH) am Theater und Orchester Heidelberg. Er ist außerdem Kurator der Tanzbiennale Heidelberg und des Choreographischen Centrums Heidelberg. Anfang 2022 wurde er Mitglied des TanzSzene-BW-Vorstands.

Pérez ist ein ehemaliges Mitglied des Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) Den Haag wo er 2011 mit »Flesh« sein professionelles choreografisches Debüt gab. Seitdem hat er neue Werke für Kompanien wie das Ballett der Pariser Oper, Balletboyz, Ballet Moskau, Compañía Nacional de Danza und Dance Forum Taipei u. a. geschaffen. Im Jahr 2018 wurde seine Kreation für das Ballett der Pariser Oper, »The Male Dancer«, Teil eines gemeinsamen Abends mit Crystal Pite, Hofesh Shechter und James Thiérrée, von Arte aufgezeichnet und war weltweit in Kinos zu sehen. Bevor er seine Tätigkeit beim DTH aufnahm, schuf er »Flutter« für Natalia Osipova und Jonathan Goddard in Sadler's Wells in London, eine Koproduktion des New York City Center, das immer noch weltweit auf Tournee ist. Im Jahr 2016 hatte der Spielfilm »Young Men«, der auf dem für Balletboyz in Sadler's Wells geschaffenen Bühnenwerk basiert, seine Premiere auf BBC2/Arte und erhielt eine Rose-d’Or- und eine Golden-Prague-Auszeichnung.

Als einer der Choreografen des niederländischen Produktionshauses Korzo in Den Haag kreierte er »Kick the Bucket« (2011), »Hide And Seek« (2013), »Exhausting Space« (2015) und »Waiting for the Barbarians« (2016), letzteres gemeinsam mit dem Regisseur Michiel de Regt. Basierend auf diesem letzten Werk entstand die erste schriftliche Dokumentation seiner Arbeitsweise: »moving thinking capture, Iván Pérez | A Choreographic Toolbox« verfasst von Hannah Shakti Bühler. Im selben Jahr gründete er in den Niederlanden seine eigene Tanzkompanie INNE, mit der er sein erstes ortsspezifisches Werk »The Inhabitants« im Auftrag des Operaestate Festivals in Italien schuf. Außerdem choreografierte er »ISLAND« in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Grzegorz Bral und dem Song of the Goat Theatre in Polen. »Becoming« war die letzte Arbeit, die mit INNE in Koproduktion mit Dance Forum Taipei entstand und wurde im Nationaltheater von Taipei während des TIFA, dem internationalen Festival für die Künste in Taiwan, präsentiert.

Innerhalb des Dance Theatre Heidelberg schafft Pérez große Werke, fördert neue choreografische Stimmen und entwickelt Gemeinschaften rund um den Tanz. Seine choreografischen Neukreationen sind derzeit mit der Trilogie zu den Millennials von jener Generation inspiriert, die zwischen 1980 und 2000 geboren wurde. »Impression«, »Dimension« und »Oscillation« erkunden jeweils mittels des Tanzes, der bildenden Kunst und der Musik die sogenannte Generation Y.»Oscillation«, der letzte Teil seiner Trilogie, in der er mittels Tanz, bildender Kunst und Musik über die Millennial-Generation reflektiert, ist weiterhin auf der Bühne zu sehen. In seiner neuesten Kreation »Firebird & Rite of Spring« stellt er die Frage nach dem Ursprung der Gewalt in der menschlichen Natur.

Aktuelle Spielzeit
Choreografie und Regie
Firebird & Rite of Spring
Bühne
Island
Choreografie
Island
Künstlerische Leitung DTH
No Tears Left to Cry
Choreografie
Reality and the Cosmos